Through The Scouts' Eye: Mike Strachan

Blue

Mar 19, 2019
mfjkepqltoceovxjsdc0

Excerpts are from interviews conducted with local media members and the Colts Official Podcast.

When Mike Strachan is dominating the way he did at the Division II level, how do you put that into context?

Chad Henry:
That's really one of the things you're looking for. I'm a small school guy myself, I went to a D-II school, and I have a lot of experience in the Northeast looking at schools like that. So when you're looking at a player at a smaller school, you want to see, does he dominate? And this guy, Mike, definitely did. I mean, two really productive years at that level and obviously you're going to see him. He's going to look good getting off the bus, now. He looks the way we want him to look. That's another test passed right away.

Then you just translate his skillset, I mean, this is a big, fast guy. He's raw, he's got some development still, but there's a lot of upside. And the performance was there. The production — you throw on the tape, you know who he is right away because of the way he looks, the way he moves and the way he produces.

Can Strachan run all the routes and how much learning does he have to do with things like that?

Chad Henry:
So here's what's impressive to me about Big Mike. I go to West Virginia's pro day and he shows up there. And Charleston hadn't played this year. They practiced for about half the year before their season was shut down. So here's a guy coming from a small school that didn't play. He's in phenomenal shape. He's in as good of shape as anybody at this workout. He blows up the testing and then when they go to run the routes, it was clear this guy had been busting his butt. He's very self-aware that way.