Devin McCourty: Patriots players can’t worry about QB position

Pat Patriot

Mar 19, 2019
GettyImages-1097599606-1-e1589572541109.jpg

Getty Images

Devin McCourty was a free agent this spring, just like Tom Brady was. So the Patriots safety was more worried about his deal than he was about Brady’s.

McCourty re-signed with the Patriots, returning on a two-year, $23 million contract. Brady left for Tampa Bay.

“I didn’t think twice about Tom Brady’s free agency because I was a free agent,” McCourty said Friday on SiriusXM NFL Radio. “That was my main concern, where my family would end up. Would we be back in New England? Then, when I signed my deal, and was back, you kind of thing of all the guys. . . . All those guys that you’ve had relationships with, that you kind of know, man, this could be it. That could have been the last game I played with these guys.

“When he made a decision, to me, it wasn’t like the end of the world, or like, oh, man. He’s a free agent. When free agency hits, there’s always a chance a guy can go to another team. I’m happy for him. He played 20 years for one organization, the knowledge he’s passed down, how open he has always been with guys learning from him, asking him questions, always so open, great teammate. When you become a free agent, that’s what our league is about. That’s what players before us have fought for, be a free agent and choose. I was happy for him if he did what makes him happy.”

Brady’s departure wasn’t the end of the world, but it could be the end of the Patriots’ dynasty after six Super Bowls. Was it Brady? Or was in Belichick?

In truth, it was both.

But the Patriots’ moves at the position this offseason — not drafting a quarterback and not signing a veteran — indicates they believe in Jarrett Stidham after a year in the system. The Patriots also have veteran Brian Hoyer and two undrafted rookies.

McCourty said the Patriots aren’t laying down just because No. 12 no longer is under center.