Inbox: He’s just that good

Cheesehead

Mar 19, 2019
y4zhnok8fhr4pkjd9ikf

Henry from Hoback, WY

"Defensing a pass..." I'm an English teacher and each time I read defensing in your column it's like a car crash in my ears. Yet accomplished writers like you two and Vic use it repeatedly. Why? No snark intended.

Sorry to burst your grammar bubble, but that is an actual term. A pass defensed reflects any way a defender prevents the receiver from catching the ball whether a deflection or an interception. At least, that’s how I learned about it.

Brian from Adel, IA

Would you pass along my thanks to Cliff for his article on Max McGee? I remember my grandpa telling me stories about playing with him in the Air Force, but I didn’t realize his service was in between his NFL years. You all know what Vic says about memories. Thank you!

Cliff is doing phenomenal work. His series of biographies on Packers Hall of Famers is a must-read. Generations of Packers fans will be better educated on the history of their favorite team thanks to Cliff.

Andrew from Shalimar, FL

Are the jerseys the players wear in unpadded practices made out of the same materials and sized accordingly, or are they totally different?

Jerry from Calgary, Canada

How does DeShone Kizer look? Is he progressing? We tend to overlook him because of the spotlight on Aaron. However, we should all know who we have as backup given the chance of injuries, and although we don't want to think about it, the time when Aaron hangs ’em up.

It’s hard to draw any grand conclusions on three OTA practices, but I think Kizer and Tim Boyle have looked fine so far. It’s all installations right now. The real test for those the backup QBs will come in training camp.

Craig from Appleton, WI