Trufant vows to bounce back from down year

Staley Da Bear

Mar 16, 2019
bjp3csxeinjb15ncd4ek

Injuries generally weren't an issue for Trufant prior to last year; the 6-foot, 190-pounder started at least 15 games in five of his first seven NFL seasons with the Falcons from 2013-19.

Now healthy, he's concentrating on strengthening his hips, hamstrings and pelvis area through weight-training and conditioning this offseason to hopefully prevent injury and increase his durability.

"First things first: I'm trying to make sure I'm healthy and available to do what they brought me in to do," Trufant said. "That's No. 1. I know if I take care of that, everything else will take care of itself.

"I'm a professional. I've been doing this a long time. I know how to be successful in this league and what that looks like and feels like. I'm just focused on being healthy, bonding with my teammates, learning the playbook, and everything else is a natural instinct for me."

Trufant joins the Bears having started all 103 games he's played in eight NFL seasons. He's recorded 349 tackles, 14 interceptions, 83 pass breakups, 10 tackles-for-loss, six sacks, three forced fumbles and seven fumble recoveries, two of which he returned for touchdowns. He was selected by the Falcons with the 22nd pick in the first round of the 2013 draft out of Washington.

Trufant is excited about joining a veteran defense that features impact players at all three levels.

"The Bears defense has always had great players," he said. "They always fire around, [are] aggressive, get to the ball, create turnovers, cause havoc. The front is always applying pressure and guys on the back end [are] making plays. I'm just excited for the opportunity to fit right in, to bring my energy to the field and play hard, take my respect from the city of Chicago."

Trufant told reporters that the Bears' free-agent pitch to him included the chance to team with perennial Pro Bowl outside linebacker Khalil Mack.