Celebrating National Girls & Women in Sports Day with the Panthers

Sir Purr

Mar 16, 2019
vvlg3uah2dd9zp7m3dod

CLAIRE BURKE | CAROLINA PANTHERS, EXECUTIVE ADMINISTRATOR TO THE GM/FOOTBALL OPERATIONS

Did you play sports growing up?

I played soccer and field hockey growing up. I started playing soccer when I was about five and played all throughout college. I walked onto the Wofford soccer team the spring season of my freshman year and played through my junior year. I played field hockey starting in sixth grade and played through my senior year. I was named all-state and played in a National Tournament in West Palm Beach Florida my junior year of high school.

What is a lesson you learned playing sports that you still apply in life today?

In high school, I received the opportunity to be a captain on both the soccer and field hockey teams. I learned that having the captain's band came with a lot of responsibility. It wasn't just a title, but it was an opportunity to set a standard for those around you. Being a leader (even without the "captain" title) allowed me to find ways to support and inspire those around me. Every day we, as leaders, have an opportunity to inspire and support those around us. There are challenges at every turn, but I find that working with a group that can inspire each other to be better and pick each other up when things get tough is incredibly valuable. Being a leader also means that you're never above getting in the trenches with your team and getting it done. The team atmosphere is important, especially when you know that everyone is in it and willing to do whatever it takes together.

How would you explain the value of having more women working in the sports industry?