Advice for rookie NFL head coaches, and what all six have to prove

Nort Spews

Mar 16, 2019
Aug 21, 2019

When the time finally came for Mike Zimmer to be an NFL head coach, he realized he didn't really know how to do it. So he decided he'd lean as hard as he could on the thing he did know how to do: coach defense.

"When you first get somewhere, you've got to get them to buy in," said Zimmer, who spent 20 years as an NFL position coach or defensive coordinator before becoming coach of the Minnesota Vikings in 2014. "That's why, when I came here, I did everything -- I called the defense, I installed all the defensive stuff, I ran the meetings, all of that, because I wanted them to think that I was an expert at something. I'd never been an expert at being a head coach, so I wanted them to know, 'Hey, this guy's a good football coach. He knows what he's talking about.' And hopefully the defensive guys would tell the offensive guys."

2 Related

This year, there are six NFL head coaches who find themselves in that position for the first time. Some might turn out to be very good at the job. Some, assuredly, will not. From here, we can't know which will be which. But with the help of a couple of guys who've made the transition, we tried to get some idea of what it's like and how to give yourself the chance to pull it off.

"I think the scheduling is very important," said Anthony Lynn, who's entering his third season as coach of the Los Angeles Chargers. "You have to deal with media a lot more than you ever have in the past, and stuff like that can pull you away from your football team. Everything that comes across your desk, it's a lot more than just football. At the end of the day sometimes, I just want to go home, not be asked any questions and just dig in on football stuff or find some time to relax. But you're the CEO of the organization, so you have to know you're going to have a lot on your plate and you have to be prepared for it."